Why I Couldn’t Stop Watching Fight For My Way

안녕! I should’ve written this weeks ago but I’ve always been proud of my laziness so I decided not to. And here I am again telling you to watch another drama.

It is unfortunate that most dramas in the second quarter of the year weren’t enough to pry me away from my kids (*whisper* Bangtan sonyeondan). I know it’s my fault for not paying enough attention but I am catching up and actually excited to do some thriller drama marathons.

Now, let’s talk why Fight For My Way kept me watching every week. First of all, Taehyung and Jungkook are watching it and Fire played (Listen to my loud and inhumane giggling). Okay, I’ll stop. Let’s look at the main couple. Ko Dong Man and Choi Ae Ra are beautifully played by Park Seo Joon and Kim Jiwon. The longtime friends turned into lovers theme may be quite rehashed this season but I just can’t stop watching. (And while we’re still on that topic, I’d like to note that my fave Asian drama with this theme is still TW’s In Time With You.) In this drama, the progression of their relationship is actually believable because it wasn’t an instant “OMG! I’M IN LOVE WTH MY BEST FRIEND! I NEED RAMEN QUICK!” No sir! They actually liked each other with the capital L way before they spilled the overflowing dam of feels. You just don’t suddenly change the way you feel about someone. You need to cultivate it and feed it and that’s what happened here. And no, I’m not going to spill spoilers.

Now, let’s go to the second couple which I think is the most realistic couple in the drama. Ahn Jae Hong and Song Ha Yoon played Kim Joo Man and Baek Seol He as the second dou of the fantastic four. These two are the most believable characters. Their problems at work, with family, money, pride, and even self-esteem getting in between their six year relationship is so relatable that it hurts. The two actors were actually the best. I, somehow, identified with Seol Hee’s dreams, her self-doubts, and her independence. Golly! I applauded hard when she stood up for herself despite the pain and rose on her own. You go Baek Seol Hee!

It also touched that theme we are all painfully pricked with: family. Okay, I have to get this out first. Ae Ra’s mom getting kicked out because of her colorful job causing Ae Ra to grow up without her is UNNECESSARY. There I said it. She could still grow up as a spunky and fiery Ae Ra with Mom by her side. While we’re on the subject of her family, let’s talk about her dad. There’s just this one scene where Are Ra was publicly humiliated in front of her dad but he said that it was a small stage anyway. She’s meant for a bigger one and proceeds to hand his adult daughter with a wad of bills just in case she’s not eating or paying her rent. Excuse me while I go cry in the corner. Yeah, it makes you think of your parents. Then there’s Dong Man’s dad who didn’t mind that his son is starting late in life as long as he doing something he loves. They also secretely gave each other money. Family man, it always strikes a chord. A minus though for Dong Man’s sister who I thought could’ve played a bigger role.

Lastly, let’s think of our dreams. This drama may make you remember what you wanted to be when you were a child. “What do I want to be when I grow up?” Did you actually do it? Do you still want to do it? Can dreams actually change? What is that one thing you just have to do or you’ll die without it? So many questions may or may not be answered. One thing’s for sure, I can never look at MMA the same way again. Nope, I’m not giving out spoilers.

I’d also like to thank writer Im Sang Choon for revealing that Fight For My Way was partially inspired by Choo Sung Hoon and his wife Yano Shiho (Google if you don’t know them). This is a good drama to understand athletes and fighters beyond the ring, or in this case, the octagon.

If you’re itching for a realistic drama with a good pace, then you can start bingeing today. Thanks for your time! Annyeong!

Leave a Reply

