The Emotional Punches of Kimi no Nawa

Hello! I know I just posted something earlier but I am making up for the lost time since I was sick last week. Being sick in bed gave me the most wonderful opportunity to binge watch.

I have been avoiding Kimi no Nawa (Your Name) since it came out last year because I didn’t want to subject myself through another emotional turmoil. I finally plucked up the courage last week and boy! My guts were right. Like I always try to do, there won’t be any spoilers here but if I do slip something, please forgive my enthusiastic fangirl heart.

I want to start with this boy right here.

1

I’m sorry but whatever you say, he will always be a boy to me. Primarily because of my age (I feel a headache coming) but most of all, Ryunosuke Kamiki will remain adorable in my eyes. It doesn’t matter if he’s playing the sweet, shy guy or a maniacal psychopath. He will be my little cutie patootie. I think most of us are in agreement that Kamiki is ONE HECK OF AN ACTOR. Like he has displayed before in his Studio Ghibli films, he has proved that his voice alone is an art. Once again, he lends his gift as the voice of Tachibana Taki, a teenage boy from Tokyo who randomly switches body with the girl from Itomori, Miyamizu Mitsuha (voiced by Kamishiraishi Mone). I am so convinced and so entertained with how Kamiki was able to switch the personality of his voice from an ordinary teenage boy to a confused teenage girl. I have to give props to Mone too. She was a delight to hear and they look cute together too. If it weren’t for their voices, this may not have been as alive as it felt.

2

3

Because it was quite hyped in the anime community, and it did pretty well in the box office, I had my expectations. Most of these expectations were in parallel to what I originally felt for 5 Centimeters Per Second. I was actually waiting for my heart to be harassed. What are we doing to ourselves? I anticipated the slow build up but I didn’t expect the attachment towards the characters and the setting. This film made me miss my little hometown. It reminded me that I haven’t been home for four years. Oh, here comes my waterworks. That was an emotional assault I wasn’t expecting. We may not live near the lake but we were near another magnificent body of water- the sea. It will remind you of home- no matter where it is, the familiarity of the streets, the old structures, and the people who know you. It felt poignant and nostalgic.

4

Then I was in awe. Kimi no Nawa’s animation is so breathtaking that I want to know what these artists are eating and what type of air they’re breathing. The landscapes are gorgeous and just look at that devil of a detail!

5

6

7

How do they do this? My screen caps aren’t really doing them any justice. I’m as artistic as a cabbage. You have to see it for yourself. I highly recommend watching it in HD and if you want to know where I watched it, you have to give me a private message for that. You have to watch this film if only for its aesthetics.

Now I want to roll four emotions in one go: Fear, Anger, Sadness, and Denial. My anxiety perked up dangerously high while watching this. I’m not talking about adrenaline rush or ghostly horrors. I’m talking about real fear for others. Because of my said previous attachment to the setting, I wanted the characters to thrive in that place, meet with their friends, AND I JUST WANT PEOPLE TO BE HAPPY! PLEASE! I don’t want to say more because I’d be giving a major spoiler. When reality shifted in the movie, I was in denial of what just happened and was greatly pushing what I want to happen. Sometimes, anime has this kind of effect on me that I don’t want to consider what I saw as real. It didn’t happen. Maybe, it was a mistake? HAHAHA! Look at that! The director must be laughing at me.

How am I supposed to know that Kimi no Nawa would have this effect on me? I’m an adult woman. Just ask my back that’s aching right now. If there’s one thing that I’m grateful for after watching this movie, it’s that THIS IS NOT YOUR 5 CENTIMETER PER SECOND ENDING.  I know that’s like a spoiler but I want you to know that your heavy heart will lift after watching this movie. I am dying to post my favorite scene but I won’t. I don’t want to spoil it for you. This may potentially cure your heartache, your pimples, and your back ache. Just go ahead and watch it. Bye bye!

5 thoughts on “The Emotional Punches of Kimi no Nawa

Leave a Reply

