Orange Live Action Movie Review

Orange_(Japanese_Movie)-p2

So, I finally watched Orange. To be honest, I haven’t read much of the manga. I’ve only reached two chapters and somehow stopped due to life’s overwhelming “responsibilities”. However, I am planning to continue reading it and I’m looking forward to the anime.

I’m not sure if you can call this a legit review. I’d actually label it more of a reaction than a review. Before watching a movie or a series, I usually look for its positive points instead of looking at different ways to criticize it. Yeah, it’s Positive Patty here. Anyway, I don’t know why I’ve been putting off to watch Orange but I’m glad finally watched it. I was pretty much not expecting anything when I started. All I know was that I was about to watch a live action.

The movie starts with the beautiful cherry blossoms in full bloom and amidst this scenery is our heroine, Takamiya Naho (Tsuchiya Tao). I didn’t even know who the cast were and I was surprised and equally pleased when I saw Tsuchiya Tao. Rurouni Kenshin: Densetsu no Saigo-hen may have been a couple of years ago but I still get the Misao feels from her and I’m not sorry for it. She did a great job in the film series and I haven’t seen much of her work (I will though. I heard that she has a more extensive experience than Kento.) I’m delighted to see her in a different light.

When the camera spans down to the falling flowers, I stared at her brown shoes. They were so shiny. Ok, back to the movie. It starts with Naho finding a letter magically appearing in her bag’s side pocket. Yeah, I’m specific on that. Don’t mind me. The mysterious letter is addressed to her and the sender is… Herself… From the future. The letter is thick with several pages and it recounts how she’ll start that day, who’ll she meet, and the things that are about to happen. The letter is centered on one person- Naruse Kakeru (Yamazaki Kento) who’d be their new classmate. Basically, the letter asks Naho to change their course in the future by changing their past actions. I wouldn’t elaborate more on this because I’d be giving away the rest of the movie and I really, really, really hate giving spoilers unless you’ve read the manga, of course.

For the supernatural element, including the magical letter, think of two parallel worlds (which will actually be explained in the movie)- the one you’re living in and that other world but with the exact same characters but different fate. The letter from the future crosses the parallel world of the past hoping to change the future of their parallel selves. I hoped that made sense to you. It actually gave me hope that my parallel self could be living a better life than I am. Not that I’m complaining. It gave me a jumble of feels. I didn’t know whether I should be happy or sad that the parallel world is getting a better ending and the other one had to deal with the bitter “reality” without any hope of changing it. I guess that’s what the movie is aiming for. You get to choose your own ending. Yey!

Before I return to the cast, can I just say that the cinematography was absolutely beautiful? The colors were just stunning! I was staring at the background as much as I was watching the story unfold. A+ indeed to the cinematographer. Getting back to the actors now- When Yamazaki Kento first appeared on the screen, I was like”Meh”. I was blank and had zero expectations. As I was watching though, I was slowly impressed. I was honestly not expecting that level of acting from Yamazaki Kento. I’ve only watched a few episodes of Death Note and Kento barely registered in my mind. Guess who’ll be re-watching Death Note now? Yep! I might as well go through his other films and dramas. Suffice to say, this had me excited for the live actions of Your Lie in April and Wolf Girl and Black Prince- the two mangas I’ve actually read and still reading. Shoujo baby! Wohoo!

Orange is about this six-man squad including Takamiya Naho, Naruse Kakeru, Suwa Hiroto, Chino Takaku, Hagita Saku, and Murasaka Azusa. Let me tell you, this movie is the ULTIMATE FRIENDSHIP GOALS. OK, yes people Sakurada Dori is Hagita Saku. Yes, Dori-kun is in this movie, albeit a little nerdy more than ever. He was… good I guess. He played the light-haired, manga-toting, nerdy, seemingly aloof and cold friend who actually cared more than he was telling. To be totally honest, the two girls in this movie didn’t really impress me. In this squad, I was drawn more to Suwa Hiroto (Ryusei Ryo). You’ll understand me though once you realize his role in the story. Obviously, Ryusei Ryo is a cutie. Ugh! I’m such a cougar.

I forgot to include the part about depression. I’ve been suffering from depression for more than a decade now. I was clinically diagnosed and had to take meds for it but I’m happy to announce that I’m coping better now. I’m pleasantly surprised that this movie handled depression not as a switch that you can turn off in an instant because of some magical words. Depression stays and festers. You can live with it though and make it through life with the help of people who care about you. That’s why I said this movie is friendship goals. I may have shed a good amount of tears when Suwa Hiroto said “If it gets too heavy, you don’t have to strain yourself to carry the whole thing” and “We don’t think you’re a burden at all.” I can’t count the number of times I’ve felt like a burden to other people and to have someone say this to you is like being enveloped in a big, warm hug. And may I add how friends can say “I love you” and sound like they really, really mean it? Again, this film is squad goals. Basically, this movie will make you feel like you have to step up your friendship skills with the people you are already friends with. A film that makes you want to be a great friend? Hell yeah, I would recommend this unless you really hate drama. I’d give Orange 4 stars and I’ll probably watch it again with my best friends. I’m bringing towels this time instead of tissues.

 

2 thoughts on “Orange Live Action Movie Review

  1. I have a weakness for Japanese and Korean movies, they’re always so beautifully made, real tearjerkers if you ask me. Thanks for this suggestion, It’s been a while since I’ve watched one. The story sounds interesting so I’ll have a look at the trailer soon. Anyhow, how’d you feel about sharing your work on Moviepilot/Creators? I’d love to expand on that so feel free to send me an e-mail. My contact details are on my blog. Hope to hear from you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

