Manga, Baby!

I was reading a one-shot manga last night (It was Atashi Kikushita.) and I decided to review my manga reading list and then it hit me like a nail in the wall. I’m a freaking hopeless romantic (At least with mangas. Sssh! Please don’t tell anyone. I beg you! Fake reputation is all I have left.) and my kokoro is stuck in high school zone. I read a LOT of shoujo manga! And because my manga reader saves the time, I could see that I read a whole ton at night. Damn! So that’s why my pillows were so damp.
Anyway, I’ve listed my favorite/recommended Asian dramas and animes already, maybe I should waste more of your time as I give you my favorite shoujo mangas and maybe, you can read them too. I highly recommend reading in Batoto if you want to read the English scanlations online. They update pretty fast and according to my “sources”, they’re actually legal. *wink*
Here are a very few of my favorite shoujo mangas which could totally destroy my reputation. I can assure you that I’m not going to give spoilers here (I hope). First off the list is Dengeki Daisy by Motomi Kyousuke. It may sound like a man’s name but Motomi-sensei is actually a girl. Ah! Sorry boys! It’s still girl power. Dengeki Daisy is about an orphaned high school girl named Teru who ends up being “enslaved” by the school janitor named Kurosaki. Daisy is the name of the person who contacts Teru through the phone and helps her get through tough days. I would totally spoil this if I tell you why I’m in love with a certain character but for a little bit of hint: He could totally turn you on with a cigarette. And I leave it at that.

Dengeki.Daisy.full.78756
Ao Haru Ride (Blue Spiring Ride) by Io Sakisaka , who also wrote Strobe Edge, is a crowd favorite. I don’t care if most people say it’s overrated but feels are feels! If this is your first time hearing about Ao Haru Ride, it’s about a girl named Yoshioka Futaba who wants to “reset” her school image from girly and cute to unladylike and carefree. Because of a misunderstanding, Yoshioka was unable to get her feelings across to a boy named Tanaka Kou before he transferred schools. They meet three years later in high school where she realizes that things can never be the same again. If you’ve seen the anime, don’t fret and do yourself a favor, READ THE MANGA TO THE VERY LAST CHAPTER. You’ll thank me later. If you’ve seen the live-action movie first, I pity you. Though I love Masahiro Higashide as Kou, the movie didn’t give any justice to all the major feels of the manga and the anime. Read the manga, please. I soaked my shirt with this one.

tumblr_inline_nhf9bj3lP61qdv5vi
Kaichou wa Maid-sama! By Hiro Fujiwara also received so much love. This was totally one of my favorite animes to begin with before I even read the manga. This is about the strong and relentless Ayuzawa Misaki who, despite being female, became the student council president in the former all-boys school Seika High School. Despite being a stickler for rules, she has a secret that the school must not know. She works at a maid café where she was caught by the most popular boy in school, Usui Takumi. Holy cow! I adore Takumi to my bones! I’ve never had this so much hots for a fictional character before. The manga is complete so you don’t have to wait at all to get a ton of Takumi hotness. And oh! If you’re looking for a bunch of adorable manga kisses, this one is for you. For a whole month, maybe a year or more (Or still), I wanted to be Misaki so, so, so, so, so much. Lucky gal!

Kaichou-wa-Maid-sama-
Bokura ga Ita by Yuki Obata makes it here. I have to confess that I watched the two live-actions first before I read the manga. Admittedly because of Ikuta Toma because WHO DOESN’T LOVE HIM? Come here and I’ll punch you. Then it turned out to be really, really good. I read the manga after, watched the anime, watched the movie again, and it’s still good. It’s one of the few live-actions which actually gave justice to the story. Bokura ga Ita spans the sweet and complicated story of Takashi Nanami and Yano Motoharu. To the very last chapter, Bokura ga Ita made me grip my hair tight. It maybe, probably, made me soak my pillow too. My reputation is totally destroyed right now. If you don’t want to take my word for it, this manga won the Shogakukan Manga Award in 2005 so it’s probably worth a try.

bokura-ga-ita-987842
There are mangas which I am still reading because scanlations are not yet completed and the manga is still running. Kamisama Hajimemashita by Suzuki Julietta is about Momozono Nanami who was chased out of her house and abandoned by her father after a gambling debt. After rescuing a man on the street, he gave her a house which was actually a shrine. Nanami’s life begins as a deity with the keepers of the shrine and the familiar fox, Tomoe. The anime went for two seasons already but it has yet to spin the struggle between a human and a yokai that is in the manga. Tomoe is my favorite tsundere. Enough said. And his hair, ugh!

67999
Kimi ni Todoke/ From Me to You by Karuho Shiina has successfully crossed from manga to anime to live-action. Though lacking in most manga content, the live action is still worth the watch. Miura Haruma, hello! The literal translation of Kimi ni Todoke is Reaching You and it seems appropriate enough because it’s about Kuronuma Sawako trying to reach out to people without being misunderstood or feared. The manga has now reached far more than that. (I am trying so hard to avoid spoilers.) I have to say though that finally, finally, we get some skinships in the manga. Yahoo!

Kimi_ni_Todoke_Manga_v07_cover_jp
These are all for now. I am itching to read more after writing this. You may also want to check out Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji, Taiyou No Ie, Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun, and Tsubaki-chou Lonely Planet. There a bunch of one-shots shoujo if you’re looking a short but sweet read. You might find some that are clichéd but as I said FEELS ARE FEELS!

Leave a Reply

